Faculty | NIH Protein Biotechnology Training Program | Washington State University Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Faculty

The training faculty are scientists from seven academic units in six colleges of the University. These include Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Molecular Biosciences, Molecular Plant Sciences, as well as Global Animal Health and Veterinary Microbiology and Pathology through the Immunology and Infectious Disease Program.

Affiliation with Ph.D. programs are noted to emphasize the interdisciplinary network that is a hallmark of the organization of biological science departments at WSU.  Because of these multiple affiliations, graduate students in any given laboratory are likely to be in different Ph.D. programs and thus they receive first-hand experience in the fundamentally interdisciplinary nature of contemporary research.

Prospective and new trainees are encouraged to contact faculty members conducting research they may be interested in. Our trainers are committed to helping new trainees find the laboratory and mentor that best fits the strengths and plans of the students, as well as what is needed to continue the cutting edge research that is going on in the program.

Faculty Member List

Jump to:

Bolded names indicate members of the Executive Steering Committee
Italicized names indicate Emeritus Faculty
Underlined names indicate Provisional Trainers

Michael L. Kahn

Director, Member of the Executive Steering Committee (ESC):
Michael Kahn
kahn@wsu.edu

Research Area: Symbiosis between nitrogen-fixing Rhizobium bacteria and legumes at molecular and metabolic levels

Department: Institute of Biological Chemistry (IBC)
Office: Clark 203

Phone: (509): 5-8327

Cliff Berkman

Associate Director, Member of the ESC:
Cliff Berkman
cberkman@wsu.edu

Research Area: Synthesis, resolution, and biochemical evaluation of chiral phosphorus-containing inhibitors of metallopeptidases related to cancer, folate processing, and neurodegenerative diseases.

Department: Chemistry
Office: Fulmer 477

Phone: (509): 5-7613

Douglas Call

Member of the ESC:
Douglas Call

drcall@wsu.edu

Research Area: Mechanisms that lead to the emergence, amplification, persistence and dissemination of antibiotic resistance in food animal production systems (E. coli and Salmonella).

Department: Paul G. Allen School for Global Animal Health (SGAH)
Office: Allen SGAH 331

Phone: (509): 5-6313

Rey Carabeo

Member of the ESC:
Rey Carabeo
rey.carabeo@wsu.edu

Research Area: Invasion of non-phagocytic cells and Modulation of host cell focal adhesions

Department: School of Molecular Biosciences (SMB)
Office: BLS 435

Phone: (509): 5-7788

Alla Kostyukova

Member of the ESC:
Alla Kostyukova
alla.kostyukova@wsu.edu

Research Area: Regulation of Actin Dynamics by Actin-Binding Proteins; Protein Structure and Protein-Protein Interactions; Circular Dichroism

Department: Voiland School of Chemical Engineering and Bioengineering
Office: Wegner 340D

Phone: (509): 5-1888

Nehal Abu-Lail

Nehal Abu-Lail
nehal@wsu.edu

Research Area: Nanoscale Cellular Interactions and Mechanics

Department: Voiland School of Chemical Engineering and Bioengineering
Office: Wegner 313

Phone: (509): 5-4961

John A. Browse

John A. Browse
jab@wsu.edu

Research Area: Enzymology of lipids & fatty acids in plants

Department: Molecular Plant Sciences and
Institute of Biological Chemistry (IBC)
Office: Clark 443A

Phone: (509): 5-2293

Haluk Beyenal

 Haluk Beyenal
beyenal@wsu.edu

Research Area: Microbial biofilm formation and bacterial adhesion process

Department:Voiland School of Chemical Engineering and Bioengineering
Office: Wegner 355

Phone:(509): 5-6607

Kelly Brayton

Kelly Brayton
kbrayton@wsu.edu

Research Area: Pathogen-host interactions

Department:Veterinary Microbiology and Pathology (VMP)
Office: ADBF 4025

Phone: (509): 5-6340

Jim Brozik
brozik@wsu.edu

Research Area: Biophysics, biosensors, instrument design and fabrication, and material science

Department: Chemistry (CHEM)
Office: Fulmer 123

Phone: (509): 5-3746

 

Jean Celli

Jean Celli
jean.celli@wsu.edu

Research Area: Mechanisms of intracellular survival and proliferation of Brucella abortus

Department: Paul G. Allen School for Global Animal Health (SGAH)
Office: Allen SGAH 227

Phone: (509): 5-4040

Amit Dhingra

Amit Dhingra
adhingra@wsu.edu

Research Area: Tree fruit genomics and tissue culture; organelle genomics, gene expression and genome manipulation

Department: Horticulture and Molecular Plant Sciences
Office: Johnson 46

Phone: (509): 5-3625

Wen-Ji Dong

Wen-Ji Dong
dongwenji@wsu.edu

Research Area: Cardiac muscle biology and mechanics, protein chemistry and engineering.

Department: Voiland School of Chemical Engineering and Bioengineering and Integrative Physiology and Neuroscience
Office: VBRB 271 or Wegner 109

Phone: (509): 5-5798 or 5-8684

David Gang

David Gang
gangd@wsu.edu

Research Area: Plant specialized metabolism

Department:Institute of Biological Chemistry (IBC)
Office: Clark 385

Phone: (509): 5-0550

Alan Goodman

Alan Goodman
alan.goodman@wsu.edu

Research Area: Immune response

Department: School of Molecular Biosciences (SMB)
Office: BLS 135

Phone (509): 5-4104

Cynthia Haseltine

Cynthia Haseltine
chaseltine@wsu.edu

Research Area: DNA recombination mechanisms in archaea

Department:School of Molecular Biosciences (SMB)
Office: BLS 137

Phone: (509): 5-6148

Michael L. Kahn

Michael L. Kahn
kahn@wsu.edu

Research Area: Nitrogen-fixing symbiosis of R. meliloti

Departments:School of Molecular Biosciences (SMB) and Institute of Biological Chemistry (IBC)
Office: Clark 435A

Phone: (509): 5-4563

ChulHee Kang

ChulHee Kang
chkang@wsu.edu

Research Area: Protein-nucleic acid interactions using X-ray crystallography

Department:Chemistry
Office: Fulmer 264

Phone: (509): 5-1409

Kwanhee Kim

Kwanhee Kim
khkim@wsu.edu

Research Area: Retinoid Signaling in Male Reproduction

Department: School of Molecular Biosciences (SMB)
Office: BLS 345

Phone: (509): 5-7022

Helmut Kirchhoff

Helmut Kirchhoff
kirchhh@wsu.edu

Research Area: Molecular Architecture and Dynamics
of Photosynthetic Membranes

Department: Institute of Biological Chemistry (IBC)
Office: Clark 427A

Phone: (509): 5-3304

Leigh Knodler

Leigh Knodler
leigh.knodler@wsu.edu

Research Area: Gram-negative bacterium

Department: Paul G. Allen School for Global Animal Health (SGAH)
Office: Allen SGAH 229

Phone: (509): 5-4046

Michael Konkel

Michael Konkel
konkel@wsu.edu

Research Area: Characterization of Campylobacter jejunipathology using comparative and functional genomics, microarrays, and proteomics

Department: School of Molecular Biosciences (SMB)
Office: BLS 447

Phone: (509): 3-5039

Henning Kunz

Henning Kunz
henning.kunz@wsu.edu

Research Area: The Conversion Of Light
To Chemical Energy During Photosynthesis

Department: School of Biological Sciences
Office: Eastlick 395

Phone: (509): 5-7698

Bernard Markus ("Mark") Lange

Bernard Markus (“Mark”) Lange
lange-m@wsu.edu

Research Area:Characterizing the interface
between primary and secondary metabolic pathways of plant metabolites

Department: Institute of Biological Chemistry (IBC)
Office: Clark 341

Phone: (509): 5-3794

Norman G. Lewis

Norman G. Lewis
lewisn@wsu.edu

Research Area: Lignin biochemistry

Department:Institute of Biological Chemistry (IBC)
Office: Clark 467A

Phone: (509): 5-2682

Picture of Dorrie Main

Dorrie Main
dorrie@wsu.edu

Research Area: Plant genome databases, comparative genomics of rosaceous crops

DepartmentDepartment of Horticulture
Office: Johnson Hall 45

Phone: (509)-335-2774

Rock Mancini

Rock Mancini
rmancini@wsu.edu

Research Area: 3D Printable Cell Cultures, Cancer Immunotherapeutics, Synthetic Macromolecular Asymmetry

Department: Chemistry
Office: Fulmer 170

Phone: (509): 5-1144

Michael Neff

Michael Neff
mmneff@wsu.edu

Research Area: Signaling pathways in Arabidopsis

Department: Molecular Plant Sciences
Office: Johnson 371

Phone: (509): 5-7705

Anthony Nicola

Anthony Nicola
anthony.nicola@wsu.edu

Research Area: Infective membrane entry of herpesviruses

Department: Veterinary Microbiology and Pathology (VMP)
Office: Bustad 315

Phone: (509): 5-6003

Picture of Roberta O'Connor

Roberta O’Connor
rob.oconnor@wsu.edu

Research Area: parasitology, molecular parasitology, drug discovery

DepartmentVeterinary Microbiology and Pathology (VMP)
Office: ADBF 4043

Phone: (509)-335-6335

Anders Omsland

Anders Omsland
anders.omsland@wsu.edu

Research Area:Coxiella burnetii and Chlamydia trachomatis.

Department: Paul G. Allen School for Global Animal Health (SGAH)
Office: Allen SGAH 315

Phone: (509): 5-3916

Steven Roberts

Steven Roberts
steven.roberts2@wsu.edu

Research Area: Genome plasticity and carcinogenesis

Department: School of Molecular Biosciences (SMB)
Office: BLS 335

Phone (509): 5-4934

Karen Sanguinet

Karen Sanguinet
karen.sanguinet@wsu.edu

Research Area: Factors that modulate growth and development

Department:
Crop and Soil Sciences
Office: Johnson 255

Phone: (509): 5-3662

Devendra Shah


Devendra Shah

dshah@wsu.edu

Research Area:Molecular pathogenesis of Salmonella and Campylobacter using comparative genomics, proteomics and next generation sequencing

Department:Veterinary Microbiology and Pathology (VMP)
Office: Bustad 417

Phone: (509): 5-6071

Eric Shelden
eshelden@wsu.edu

Research Area: Stress Response Mechanisms in Health and Disease

Department:School of Molecular Biosciences (SMB)
Office: BLS 341

Phone: (509):5-2368

Kiwamu Tanaka

Kiwamu Tanaka
kiwamu.tanaka@wsu.edu

Research Area: The function of DAMP signal for an in-depth understanding of plant defense mechanisms against pathogen and insect attacks

Department: Plant Pathology
Office: Johnson 355

Phone: (509): 5-6418

Viveka Vadyvaloo

Viveka Vadyvaloo
vvadyvaloo@wsu.edu

Research Area: Arthropod-borne Zoonotic Infectious Diseases

Department: Paul G. Allen School for Global Animal Health (SGAH)
Office: Allen SGAH 317

Phone: (509): 5-6043

Bernie Van Wie

Bernard Van Wie
bvanwie@wsu.edu

Research Area: Biosensors, Biomedical Processes, Mammalian Cell & Tissue Culture, Engineering Education

Department: Voiland School of Chemical Engineering and Bioengineering
Office: Wegner Hall 311

Phone: (509): 5-4103

John Wyrick

John Wyrick
jwyrick@wsu.edu

Research Area: Chromatin Structure and Gene Regulation; Bioinformatics

Department: School of Molecular Biosciences (SMB)
Office: BLS 241

Phone: (509): 5-8785

Emeritus Faculty

Wendy Brown

Wendy Brown
wbrown1@wsu.edu

Department: School of Molecular Biosciences (SMB)
Office: ADBF 4031

Phone: (509): 5-6067

Nancy Magnuson

Nancy Magnuson
magnuson@wsu.edu

Department: School of Molecular Biosciences (SMB)
Office: BLS 141

Phone: (509): 5-0996

Guy Palmer

Guy Palmer
gpalmer@wsu.edu

Research Area: Microbial infection and immunity

Department: Paul G. Allen School of Global Animal Health (SGAH)
Office: Allen SGAH 101C

Phone :(509): 5-6033

Raymond Reeves

Raymond Reeves
reevesr@wsu.edu

Department: School of Molecular Biosciences (SMB)
Office: BLS 439

Phone: (509): 5-1948

Michael J. Smerdon

Michael J. Smerdon
smerdon@wsu.edu

Department: School of Molecular Biosciences (SMB)
Office: BLS 147

Phone :(509): 5-6853

Ralph Yount

Ralph Yount
yount@wsu.edu

DepartmentChemistry
Office: Fulmer 27

Phone: (509): 5-3442